Posted by: Suresh S | September 19, 2009

Random updates JLT…

It has been over a month since i last scribbled a thing or 2 on this blog. To cut things really short, i was plain (vanilla) busy. I just couldn’t gather enough time in solitude to putdown something worth ur time.

A friend of mine also commented that I have lost the appetite for humour. Now that’s a seriously funny remark, given the kind of stuff you will find in my archives. I mean not all of them qualify to be humourous but at least one must give it to me for trying… Ok.. I won’t debate that again…

What kept me busy all these days was obviously my work schedule. But I also got a chance to lay my hands on quite a few interesting books. I am kinda midway through 2 books.

1. Take Your Time – Eknath Easwaran

2. English Teacher – R K Narayan

Both these books are equally engaging. I kinda switch between them most of the times. I usually don’t switch between books when i read but here’s a trend breaker!!

This is the 1st book of Eknath Easwaran that I got a chance to read. I must say the author has a charm in his writing. His thoughts, backed with real life (the ones that make you say, “I can so relate to it..” types) examples are simply amazing. I strongly recommend you this book if you have interest in spiritual reading.

The 2nd book has also managed to keep me equally captivated since it reminds me of simplicity. It reminds of the life of a simple south indian couple that has a kid, and are happy, contented in their own world and away from the rat race of city life. It brings back to me the beauty of life in general, in the simplest possible terms. The little things that one can relate with his or her own life, makes it thoroughly enjoyable. I simply loved reading R.K.

Apart from this, I am pretty much the same guy, who still has a lot of appetite for wasting time, and not to mention blogging… (Well the time wasting part that i spoke of, I was referring to reading others’ blogs…) And you thought only your jokes were bad… hah!!

P.S. Feel free to stop by my blog until you find worthier reasons to settle scores with me!!


Responses

  1. Hey.. long time buddy!
    And Rk’s English teacher is very profound, it’s one of his heavier works…
    RK is just superb…
    Is Eknath Eswaran also similar? In fact I’ve had this urge for indian authors these days and this is a pretty good reccomendation. I will try it! 🙂
    And please keep blooging often.

  2. @Niveditha,

    I have just begun reading ‘The English Teacher’. So might not be complete in my comment.

    Eknath Easwaran is definitely one of those rare authors who would make you think and reflect every line you read of his.
    So if you have lots of time, go for it. But I feel, ‘Take Your Time’ is not a book to be read in one go. Do give it enough time. I am sure you will like it.


Leave a comment

Categories